Paleo review: my first week of re-evolution

alright let’s go day by day beginning 1/2/10:

Sat: did good, felt oooook, did the 10 mile’ er with the run group, a little hungry.

Sun: hungriest day and felt really crappy during the lifting session so I cut it short. It reminded me of the crossfit seminar when the speaker described starting the Paleo diet like getting off some drug addiction. He then mentioned he had a seminar where a previous addict agreed(kind of funny). I believe it, I didn’t have the shakes or anything but I felt crappy.

Mon: I decided to eat more veggies throughout the day and bought some bags at Trader Joes, frozen and fresh. I ate at least every two hours, lifting session felt awesome!

Tues: I noticed I am doing a lot more chewing

Wed: Pre-planned meals for the day and had at least two shakes so I could eat while working

Thurs: I did great the whole day, then I decided to make an excuse for myself and eat the pizza in the fridge or it would go bad. Dropped the ball today, it was a horrible domino effect (read on).

Friday: I rebounded from my pizza binge except, between traveling from facilities I had a burrito, poor planning today.

Sat: I was at my parents house and after eating all the carrots and apples I could eat, I had two bagels, dammit.

Sunday: got back on track, no workout today so I ate less had eggs and lots of nuts throughout the day, finished with pasta and meat sauce, again poor planning and excuses for myself.

What I learned: you must pre-plan! I’m learning to cook. Eating out actually isn’t that hard, you just have to love salads and get creative. Pizza is actually a sweet, it tasted super sweet compared to everything else I ate that week. I must eat 5-7 meals in order to feel good with my activity level. I did and do feel cleaner, that’s the only way I can describe it, I feel focused and awake  after meals as opposed to “food coma.” I saw FOOD INC. a must see, which makes me want to breed my own chickens and grow my own plants. An expert in that movie said that the human body was designed to seek “sweet, soft and fat” in terms of what we crave. These are the most energy dense foods and they exist very rarely in nature. It made me notice that about everything of what we as American’s eat  regularly eat fits one of those traits, whether it’s the sugar in your coffee, diet coke, french bread, whatever. Our cravings as humans are designed for survival not optimal health.

Oh ya, I also had a dream about a floating sandwich or I think it was grilled cheese sandwich

About MaxOut Performance Fitness
Sergio Maldonado is a Sports Performance and Fitness Coach in the San Francisco Bay Area. He strives to be the best at what he does through training, professional development courses, and practice. The purpose of this blog is to get out some of the knowledge that he obtains to better help others in their pursuits towards fitness and a better life.

Leave a Reply

