You Only Get ONE Body

Age 60 swimming from Alcatraz Island to Fisherman’s Wharf while handcuffed, and pulling a 1,000-pound boat!

Jack LaLanne was famous for saying:  “The only way to hurt the body is don’t use it.”

 

One question I frequently get asked is, “Sergio, how do you stay motivated to work out?”  I usually answer with, “To me, working out is fun and I always have some sort of goal I’m chasing.”

 Many people find themselves in a cycle. At first, they’re super motivated then find themselves burned out in a week or two.  When I aske what their goals were, 99.9% of them say that it’s fat loss. They then continue on to say,  “But I can’t seem to find the time to workout. What’s the fastest and easiest way to do this?”  The answer to this question is in the four steps listed at the bottom.
I began to dig a little deeper into my motivation for training and began asking some of my more successful clients a few questions.
 1. Why do you workout?      2. Why are you able to stick to it?”
What I found out is that there is always a deeper reason that these “special clients” have. This deeper reason is what sets them apart from everyone else trying to lose weight. One example is Brandon who said he wanted to stop being judge by others simply because his weight. This reason will struck some deep emotions with him and when you felt things were tough he would remember his reason. Once these people find a reason I have  seen them set on a path where working out as well as proper nutrition is a priority in their lives.
 Brandon, puts it best when he said he uses a balance between
 “Rewards and Scare Tactics” to keep him motivated.
When thinking about my own motivations and those of my most successful clients, I have to say the two principles Brandon mentioned using positive (Rewards) and negative (Scare Tactics) reinforcement really helps when used in a systematic fashion.  For myself, I use events (triathlons, sports, certifications, challenges..) as rewards because of the feeling of accomplishment I get rewarded with. The “scare tactics” for me is knowledge of nutrition and health. When I see how some foods can really damage our bodies and well as keep us from functioning at not just an optimal level but at a baseline level.  I don’t just try to eat well to be “super healthy”.  I try to eat well to not be sick!  Obesity is a disease that puts you at high risk for many other physical and mental disorders.. I see being overweight or even having an improper diet as being SICK.  I only get ONE BODY and I am trying to maximize what I can do with it. Since I know this will also help maximize my mind, body, and life!
Below is a great post by Mike Boyle, one of the foremost experts in the fields of Strength & Conditioning and Performance Enhancement, which inspired this post.
Take Brandon’s advice of incorporating “Rewards and Scare Tactics” if you want to start training and eating right. I believe that before you start ANY weight-loss system or approach regardless of the actual diet or exercise these are the most important steps to setting yourself up for SUCCESS!
Step 1Find your “it”. What motivates you?  Be honest with yourself and look deep, what is the real reason you want to lose weight?  Spend some time thinking about this, it will be worth it. Write down why you want to lose weight and find feelings associated with that.  Then, turn this into a goal with a timeline. DO IT!
Step 2Set your motivators, REWARDS (positive) and SCARE TACTICS (negative). What will you give yourself once you accomplish your goal?  Set milestone rewards and think of how you will feel. Remember to constantly have small rewards for the tough times.
Scare tactics: Proactively inform yourself with knowledge about health and nutrition. What is that SNICKERS going to do to you? There is a reason kids get super cranky after eating sugar. What are the long-term effects? Find what “scares you” and have something to lose. Tell everyone about goal, nothing scares you into doing something like public commitment. I’m sure there is more than that in which you can think of.
Step 3Execution: make a plan, how long do you have?  Do you want fast progress that may not be able to be maintained as easily or slower but more long lasting change?
 Change is hard or else you would have done it already but if you set a plan and have Step 1 and 2 covered then you can do it!
Step 4Reevaluate: if you have been trying something and it hasn’t worked then try something new. Whether it’s your diet strategy or exercise regimen. Find an approach that works, milk it dry then see what you can tweak.
As always contact me with any questions, comments, angry letters or  funny stories. Thanks!

Sergio Maldonado

MaxOutPerformance Fitness

smaldonado@axispt.com

650.271.7171

About MaxOut Performance Fitness
Sergio Maldonado is a Sports Performance and Fitness Coach in the San Francisco Bay Area. He strives to be the best at what he does through training, professional development courses, and practice. The purpose of this blog is to get out some of the knowledge that he obtains to better help others in their pursuits towards fitness and a better life.

One Response to You Only Get ONE Body

  1. Victor Tan says:

    A very informative article! Greetings from Singapore

Leave a Reply

