Frisbee Hand! (broken hand)

 

This past Sunday the 29th I was playing Ultimate Frisbee at a park. Something I love to do whenever I get a chance.

During the game I was going for a frisbee when I collided with other people and the ground. My fourth finger hurt so I looked at it. I saw a little movement, as I walked I saw a little more but it ached. I keep playing, finished the game and went home to ice. Long story short on Wednesday I got an X-ray and the Doctor said I fractured by hand and may need surgery. Fast forward to Friday and the Doc recommends surgery.

😦  bummed I can’t do my triathlon and may have to go under the knife as well as spend some $$

But I will still keep active and workout since I have other body parts and a mind that is soothed by exercise. I believe there is NO REASON to become sedentary after an injury. See this article for more

 

My positive twist on this is that I will be able to work on my non dominant side for strength and motor control. As far as work I will have to learn to describe, cue and teach clients more effectively verbally. Here’s to the journey and a stronger hand in the end!

Also, yes! I will keep playing frisbee the first chance I get as well as any other sport as soon as I think it will do no harm.

If you always put limit on everything you do, physical or anything else. It will spread into your work and into your life. There are no limits. There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them. -bruce lee

For pics see here : Hand pics

About MaxOut Performance Fitness
Sergio Maldonado is a Sports Performance and Fitness Coach in the San Francisco Bay Area. He strives to be the best at what he does through training, professional development courses, and practice. The purpose of this blog is to get out some of the knowledge that he obtains to better help others in their pursuits towards fitness and a better life.

Leave a Reply

