My first client Brandon

I have been working with Brandon since June 2007. I started working at the YMCA in January 2007, I told my boss that I wanted to progress to be a personal trainer. After earning my certification  I met my first client Brandon.

At the time he was a 200lb+ 13 year old. His grandma brought him in to meet with a trainer to discuss his goals and plan for training. In the summer we started an aggressive program that also had to be fun  for a 13 year old. We trained 4-5 days a week including strength training, metabolic conditioning and mobility. We made some great progress then hit a roadblock at about -10lbs of fat-loss.

So we started working on nutrition, eat this, not that.  After some ups and downs we BOTH understood how crucial eating right was to Brandon’s goals. Then after working at the YMCA for 3+ years it was time for me to move on. I transferred Brandon over to another trainer but not before building a great friendship with Brandon as well as his family.

Fast forward about a year and a half later. Brandon’s grandma gives me a call and asks “can you still train Brandon?” I let her know my training schedule at the time and we worked a deal out where I would train Brandon at a nearby park 2-3 times per week since the facilities I worked at were too far for Brandon to get too.

He came to me at his heaviest weight of 269lbs in August 2011. We set some initial exercise goals to get him started and he started keeping a food log. We measured body-fat by taking circumference measurements which were as follows:

9/25/11
Waist 53”
Thigh 26.9”
Calf 18.5”
Forearm 16.5”
Body Fat 54%

This was a huge wake-up call for Brandon. I helped him develop some reasonable goals and decided losing 1% of body fat every 2-3 weeks would be great and also require some hard work. I gave Brandon some resources and strategies on how to start getting his nutrition in line to support fat-loss as well as muscle gain during our sessions. In a nutshell (more protein, more veggies, less carbs and more water/sleep).

As the months passed here was the progress:

9/25/11 10/15/11 11/10/11 11/29/11 2/2/12 3/5/12
Waist 53” 52” 51.33” 51.0” 46.0” 42.5”
Arm 16.5” 16.0” 14.25”
Buttocks 52.25” 51.25” 48.0” 46.5”
Forearm 12.0” 12.0” 12.0” 11.75” 11.75”
Body Fat 54% 52.08% 51.6% 50.77% 45.57% 39.09%
Weight 269 lbs 218 lbs* 215.5 lbs

* Under 220 lb milestone achieved!

4/2/12 5/1/12 8/8/12 9/5/12 10/7/12
Waist 43.5” 43.25” 40.5” 40.5” 39.5”***
Arm 14.25” 14.5” 13.25”
Buttocks 46.0” 46” 45” 43” 43.5”
Forearm 11.75” 11.75” 11.75” 12” went up? Muscle!! 12”
Body Fat 36.23% 33.13% 29.53% 27.45% 25.51%
Weight 213 lbs 207.8 lbs 197 lbs** 189 lbs

** Under 200 lb milestone achieved!

*** Under 40” waist milestone achieved!

          



          

Wow, in a little over a year Brandon lost more than half his body-fat and 80 lbs! Incredible. What’s more incredible is the change in his attitude. He has matured so much in the past year. When I asked Brandon what his big motivator was he tells me ” I was just tired of losing, I wanted to start winning at something.” That’s exactly what he did. It definitely did not all come off immediately as you can see by the numbers. There were speed bumps but once we figured those out we saw some nice gains! We can all relate to Brandon in that way, where failing at things really hurts sometimes. However, when  you can figure out what went wrong and push-through the reward is more than worth it!

That’s one of the MAIN reasons I love working in the field, I physically see the results of hard work and get a firsthand glimpse at the potential we ALL have in ANY aspect of our lives. Fitness to me gives you a fast way, yes I said fast way, of seeing what hard work, planning and even failing can do us. Since it’s all about what we do after we fail, failing to me is not a bad word. It’s GOOD if we can use it to our advantage.

Brandon is my hero and a huge pain in the a$$ sometimes but his will power under duress and continual progress as a trainee as well as a person is inspiring.  He still trains with me twice a week and attends a weight lifting class in college. With all his accomplishments and experiences I believe he could write a book on fat-loss strategies. Today he sent me a text message and asked if it would be better for him to eat a handful of carrots or dark leafy vegetables.  This is the kind of thing he thinks about now. Love it!

About MaxOut Performance Fitness
Sergio Maldonado is a Sports Performance and Fitness Coach in the San Francisco Bay Area. He strives to be the best at what he does through training, professional development courses, and practice. The purpose of this blog is to get out some of the knowledge that he obtains to better help others in their pursuits towards fitness and a better life.

One Response to My first client Brandon

  1. ronbo2012 says:

    Great Story!!!!
    –Ron

Leave a Reply

