Certifications and Continuing Education course work

One of the locations I train at is The Fitness Edge in Los Gatos.  On one of the walls, I have several of my professional certifications posted.  A client was looking at them and asked some questions. I thought I’d turn his questions into a Q/A for my blog.

 

1. Why do you take Continuing Education (CE)  courses and obtain Certifications?

First,  I really enjoy learning and always have a thirst to learn more.  I learn from reading, listening to podcasts/audiobooks, and attending classes.  By attending CE courses and obtaining certifications, I learn about the latest research based techniques and programs.  I also get to network with other health professionals which in invaluable.  I also enjoy taking CE courses and getting certifications  because I can apply what I learn with my clients immediately.  Helping my clients perform, feel, and look better is my mantra. By staying current with training trends and research, I’m able to help my clients even more.

 

  2. How often do you try to get certifications?

I really do not have a timeline in which to get certs. I pursue certifications that are worth getting that will help my clients or that genuinely interest me. It is an investment in time wise and financially so I only pursue certifications that are considered the best in the fitness industry. 

 

 3.  Which one certification has helped you the most professionally?

 That’s really hard to say as my knowledge base consists of learning from all my certifications and courses that I have completed. I’ve also read the materials such as NSCA Strength and Conditioning Coach but have not tested for certification in those programs.  I most enjoyed doing the Russian Kettlebell Certification (RKC) because I learned a lot from it, grew as an athlete and a health professional and have been able to continually use much of what I learned with my clients.

The latest Certification that I completed was the Precision Nutrition Program.  This is a certification which has given me an even greater understanding of proper nutrition and the psychology behind it.  This program has helped the many varied needs of my clients from learning how to eat healthy to wanting to loose a few pounds to wanting to loose 80+ pounds.

Image

About MaxOut Performance Fitness
Sergio Maldonado is a Sports Performance and Fitness Coach in the San Francisco Bay Area. He strives to be the best at what he does through training, professional development courses, and practice. The purpose of this blog is to get out some of the knowledge that he obtains to better help others in their pursuits towards fitness and a better life.

Leave a Reply

